Student stories

  • Charlotte COMBIER, M1's student in "Advanced Economics"

    "Entering the ENS after the B/L competition, I chose without hesitation to follow a program in economics. The solid training in econometrics, micro, macro and mathematics allows to acquire indispensable methodological skills whereas applied economics courses allow to explore fields where to pursue our research. In this regard, I discovered an interest for the geographical economy that led me to do my M1's thesis in urban economy, under the direction of Pierre-Philippe Combes, about knowledge spillovers. The program becomes strongly meaningful during the internship that we may do. It is an opportunity to apply our knowledge, develop other skills on the job and reinforce our career aspirations.

     

    My internship at the European Commission in the firm of Commissioner Moscovici allowed me to use my knowledge in monetary economics and macro international and to acquire currents drafting techniques in the administration: briefing notes, memos etc. In another way, my internship at the "Direction Générale du Trésor" led me to strengthen my interest for public economy issues, in particular the subjects of education economy, to learn the rigour of an economic administration and to strengthen my willingness to work in this field after my studies."

  • Robin LENOIR, M2's student in "Advanced Economics"

    "I arrived at the school in 2016 with the desire to focus on social science research - but without really knowing which discipline! In Master 1 at the ENS I was able to benefit from rigorous training in economics (which proved to be a passion for me) while continuing to study sociology, that I did not want to leave completely. This double specialization in Master 1 has pushed me towards my preferred field: network economics. Thus, before my Master 2, I was able to deepen my research projects by being supervised by one of the world's leading specialists in network economics during a one-year stay at Harvard University. At ENS I appreciated the proximity with the professors and was impressed by their commitment to helping the students in their projects."

  • Nicolas LE TOUX, Visiting student at the University of Chicago

    "In 2017, when I arrived at the "Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon", my professional project was not finalized yet, but I was rather interested in a career as a senior civil servant. That’s why I chose to go into economics. The courses offered at the ENS gave me a broad skills base, but also helped me to clarify my research interests, through applied economics courses. I have thus discovered a strong interest in issues of ethnicity and conflict in sub-Saharan Africa, a dynamic field of research in economics and political science. In order to deepen my knowledge of these topics, I am currently a visiting student at the University of Chicago. I’m attached to the Pearson Institute for the Study and Resolution of Global Conflicts, a conflict research centre that brings together economists like James Robinson, Roger Myerson and Christopher Blattman.

    In order to strenghten my professional project, I also had the opportunity to work in two very rewarding internships, each lasting about two months. During summer 2018, I joined the political chancellery of the French Embassy in Togo. I assisted the ambassador and advisors in monitoring political news, writing speeches and organizing events. In addition to this experience, I joined the "Inspection Générale des Finances" during summer 2019 as a Mission Assistant. This has led me to mobilize the skills learned at the ENS in a more practical context, to help in the production of a public policy evaluation report. The involvement of ENS teachers was decisive in finding each of these work experiences."

  • Julian MARCOUX, M1's student in "Advanced Economics"

    "I joined the Ecole Normale Supérieure after two years of "classe préparatoire B/L". I had a rather economics/mathematics profile and I therefore logically continued in economics. The training provided at the ENS in Lyon is rigorous and comprehensive; it enables solid theoretical and applied knowledge to be acquired very quickly. In addition, the ENS offers a very important socialisation to research, which is an interesting opportunity. I have became a research assistant under the direction of Mathieu COUTTENIER, for whom I wrote a literature review on the economic determinants of deforestation. I am also responsible for analyzing data on various topics. This work led me to write my research paper on a microeconomic model that uses the tools of game theory to analyze deforestation dynamics in India, Nepal and Indonesia. This theoretical model also study the optimal conditions of different tools which aim at reducing deforestation (notably the introduction of contracts).

     

    In addition, the knowledge learned is very quickly operational, whether it is for research assistant work, paper writing or during internships. Indeed, I had the chance to do an internship at the Banque de France under the direction of Sylvie GOULARD (second deputy governor). I have worked on issues related to the economy of climate change, a field of research I am passionated in. I want to become a researcher, and the internship opportunities as well as the possibility to conduct a long research project are assets that will undoubtedly enable me to carry out my thesis under the best possible conditions."

logo_ens2010.jpg
groupe_analyse_théorie_economique.jpg

Témoignages

  • Charlotte COMBIER, étudiante de M1 "Advanced Economics"

    "Entrée à l’ENS par la voie du concours B/L, j’ai choisi sans hésitation de suivre un cursus en économie. La formation solide en économétrie, micro, macro et mathématiques permet d’acquérir des compétences méthodologiques indispensables alors que les cours d’économie appliquée permettent d’explorer des champs où poursuivre nos recherches. J’ai pu à cet égard me découvrir un goût pour l’économie géographique qui m’a amené à réaliser mon mémoire en économie urbaine sous la direction de Pierre-Philippe Combes sur les knowledge spillovers. La formation prend d’autant plus de sens lors des stages que l’on est amenés à réaliser. Ils sont l’occasion de mettre en application nos connaissances, de développer d’autres compétences sur le tas et de conforter nos aspirations professionnelles.

     

    Mon stage à la Commission Européenne dans le cabinet du Commissaire Moscovici m’a permis d’utiliser mes connaissances en économie monétaire et en macro internationale et d’acquérir des techniques rédactionnelles en cours dans l’administration : notes de synthèse, mémo etc. Dans un autre ordre d’idée, mon stage à la Direction Générale du Trésor m’a permis de conforter mon goût pour les questions d’économie publique et en particulier les sujets d’économie de l’éducation, d’apprendre la rigueur propre à une administration économique et de conforter ma volonté de travailler dans ce domaine après mes études."

  • Robin LENOIR, étudiant de M2 "Advanced Economics"

    "Je suis arrivé à l’école en 2016 avec l’envie de m’orienter vers la recherche en sciences sociales – mais sans vraiment savoir quelle discipline ! En master 1 à l’ENS, j’ai pu profiter d’une formation rigoureuse en économie, qui s’est avéré me passionner, tout en continuant à étudier la sociologie que je ne voulais pas totalement quitter. Cette double spécialisation en master 1 m’a poussée vers mon domaine de prédilection : l’économie des réseaux. Ainsi, avant mon master 2, j’ai pu approfondir mes projets de recherche en étant encadré par l’un des spécialistes mondiaux de ce domaine lors d’un séjour d’un an à l’Université d’Harvard. A l’ENS j’ai apprécié la proximité avec les professeurs et été impressionné par leur engagement pour aider les étudiant.e.s dans leurs projets."

  • Nicolas LE TOUX, visiting student à l'Université de Chicago

    "En 2017, quand je suis arrivé à l’École Normale Supérieure de Lyon, mon projet professionnel n’était pas arrêté, mais plutôt dirigé vers une carrière de haut fonctionnaire. C’est pourquoi j’ai choisi de m’orienter en économie. Les cours dispensés à l’ENS m’ont permis d’acquérir un socle de compétences générales, mais également de préciser mes intérêts de recherche, par le biais des cours d’économie appliquée. Je me suis ainsi découvert un intérêt marqué pour les problématiques d’ethnicité et de conflits en Afrique subsaharienne, un champ de recherche dynamique en économie et en science politique. Dans l’optique d’approfondir ces thématiques, je suis actuellement visiting student à l’Université de Chicago. J’y suis rattaché au Pearson Institute for the Study and Resolution of Global Conflicts, un centre de recherche sur les conflits qui regroupent des économistes comme James Robinson, Roger Myerson ou Christopher Blattman.

    Afin d’affiner mon projet professionnel, j’ai aussi pu effectuer deux stages très enrichissants, chacun d’une durée de deux mois environ. À l’été 2018, j’ai intégré la chancellerie politique de l’Ambassade de France au Togo. J’assistais l’ambassadeur et les conseillers dans le suivi de l’actualité politique, la rédaction de discours et l’organisation d’événements. En complément de cette expérience, j’ai rejoint l’Inspection Générale des Finances à l’été 2019, en qualité d’assistant de mission. Cela m’a amené à mobiliser les compétences obtenues à l’ENS dans un cadre plus pratique, afin d’aider à la production d’un rapport d’évaluation d’une politique publique. L’implication des professeurs de l’ENS a été déterminante pour obtenir chacune de ces expériences."

  • Julian MARCOUX, étudiant de M1 "Advanced Economics"

    "J’ai intégré l’Ecole Normale Supérieure après deux années de classe préparatoire B/L. J’avais un profil plutôt économie/mathématiques et j’ai donc logiquement poursuivi en économie. La formation dispensée à l’ENS de Lyon est poussée et complète ; elle permet d’acquérir très vite de solides connaissances théoriques et appliquées. De plus, l’ENS offre une socialisation à la recherche très importante, ce qui est une immense opportunité. J’ai ainsi pu devenir assistant de recherche de Mathieu Couttenier, pour qui j’ai rédigé une revue de littérature sur les déterminants économiques de la déforestation. Je suis aussi chargé d’analyser des données sur divers thèmes. Ce travail m’a amené à réaliser mon mémoire sur un modèle microéconomique qui utilise les outils de la théorie des jeux pour analyser les dynamiques de déforestation en Inde, au Népal et en Indonésie. Ce modèle théorique vise également à analyser les conditions d’optimalité de différents outils visant à réduire la déforestation (notamment l’introduction de contrats).

     

    En outre, les connaissances apprises sont très vite opérationnelles, que ce soit pour des travaux d’assistant de recherche, de rédaction de mémoire ou lors des stages. En effet, j’ai eu la chance d’effectuer un stage à la Banque de France sous la direction de Sylvie GOULARD (seconde sous-gouverneure). J’ai travaillé sur des problématiques liées à l’économie du changement climatique, champ de recherche pour lequel je me passionne.  Je souhaite devenir chercheur, et les opportunités de stage en master ainsi que la possibilité d’effectuer un projet long de recherche sont des atouts qui me permettront indéniablement de réaliser ma thèse dans les meilleures conditions possibles."

logo_ens2010.jpg
groupe_analyse_théorie_economique.jpg